This was my first time using Turo... The owners of the first 2 cars I tried to reserve didn't have their calendars updated, and upon requesting to rent their car for the weekend, I was declined. This was really annoying and frustrating, as I didn't expect it to be so hard to reserve a car that was listed as available..... Anyways, Eric's truck was available to reserve immediately and everything went smoothly from then on. It was easy to contact Eric, and he was responsive. The truck ran great, but the brake light was on the entire time, although the brake was not set, but I wasn't too concerned. Also, the tires seemed like they need to be replaced, as they don't have much traction. Overall, I was happy with the situation. Thanks again for being so easy going!
We barely even used the thing. I needed a truck with a hitch, but the ball was the wrong size and the hitch was locked on so we couldn't use our own. Basically I wasted $50 to drive less than 20 miles. While we had it, it drove fine. It is a bare bones model, no CD player or electric windows, but that didn't matter. The emergency brake light is stuck on, but again, that didn't affect driveability. We never met the owner. Everything eas done by text. I sent photos of the truck including some small dings, got the code to open the key box, and that was it. I really would have appreciated being able to hangs out the hitch size, but the owner didn't respond to that text and we were in a hurry. The owner responded to most of our texts writhin 10 minutes.
Oh, and Turo told me as a first time user I would get a $25 credit, but that didn't happen. We tried and tried using different browsers, etc. to get a code, but were never offered any place to enter in such a code or given the opportunity to use one. Overall, I'm not so thrilled with the experience. Seems like a good idea in theory but leaves a bit to be desired.
The truck served us well for our week long adventure. The vehicle was clean and in good working condition. The pickup and return were easy. I would rent from Eric again.
The parking break light was on for the duration of our trip (despite the fact that the parking break was not engaged), and the tire pressure monitor did come on a number of times and I needed to put air in the tires twice- granted, however, we had several hundred pounds of gear in the bed and drove a rather large distance, so tire upkeep isn't out of the ordinary- but the tires could stand to be checked out.
Pros: The car worked beautifully for our trip to the coast. It was a comfortable drive, and the price was right. I liked the convienience of returning the car early.
Cons: The communication before my trip was lacking, which led to me going to the wrong destination for the pick-up. This cost me an extra uber ride I was not not planning on spending. Also a maintenance light was on.
Regardless of that, we had a great time thanks to the truck. Thank you.